Back in the Saddle Again

It’s that time of year again, and my thoughts once again turn to how I can respond to the ironic actions of many of today’s organizations concerning Christmas. There is a good deal of inconsistency when you look at the way certain companies try so hard to remove “Christmas” from the Christmas holiday and season.

Photo of PhilDo you see the irony in it? Companies that are in the business of making money – making a ton of their profit off of consumers who buy millions and billions of dollars of their products during the Christmas shopping season – that are so afraid to allow the word “Christmas” into their advertising at this time of year. Let’s get real here … the existence of Christmas is the reason that the holiday even exists. It is the reason that those companies even have the ability to sell all the products that they sell at this time of year.

I have no issues at all with capitalism and the aspirations that drive companies to succeed. It just seems to be sending such a weird message when an organization seems to want to have nothing to do with the “name” of the day, yet wants everything else to do with what that day brings to them and others.

Do companies really think that people would go out and buy presents – their products – like they do now, if Christmas did not exist like it has for years and years? Whether one personally agrees with the spiritual aspects of Christmas (I do, by the way), it is amusing that companies want to dismiss the word from their advertising because of a certain amount of pressure, yet they still want the benefits from all else that the Christmas holiday brings. The profits, the bonuses, the time off, the gifts (both giving and receiving), the food, the parties, the decorations … did I mention the food? All of those benefits accrue due to the existence of the “Christmas” holiday. Those benefits are not there because there is a New Years holiday or one of the other seasonal holidays that are now in fashion. They are there because of the Christmas holiday that happens each December 25.

It is just kind of funny to me. Substituting “holiday” in many instances for the simple word, “Christmas.” Calling what has been known for years and years – that’s called a tradition – by some other name. Calling it a “Holiday Tree” rather than a “Christmas Tree.” Or, re-naming a Christmas card and saying that it is now a “Holiday Card.” And, there’s also the one about the Christmas lights that you’ve put up on your house and around your tree for years – those are now called “Holiday lights.”

Christmas really is why all of this takes place each year. It is, as they say, the “reason for the season.”

And, the reason this site exists is to be a positive means of reinforcing and telling the story of (or at least recognizing) the people and organizations that have no problem with the great tradition of Christmas and are not afraid to let their Christmas lights shine. It’s just my way of contributing, and I hope you will join with me in making a positive difference to “someone” out there. I will probably sneak in some fun(ny) Christmas things related to my family … and maybe yours!

I will be spending some time in Colorado for Christmas this year, which is something I/we have never done. One thing I am anticipating is doing one of my favorite things, in a way that I have not done it before. I may freeze my backside off, but I hope to put a foot into a stirrup and swing myself up onto a big mountain horse, and enjoy the beauty of a Colorado winter and the Rocky Mountains like I have never done before.

It’s actually been a while since I have been horseback riding, so I am looking forward to the day when I jump back in the saddle again. I encourage you to do the same.

If you have bought into the idea that it’s not popular or fashionable or even profitable to include the word “Christmas” into your conversations and greetings and your company’s official jargon, I urge you to put your feet solidly in those stirrups, jump back up on that saddle, and take the reins in your hands. Don’t let fear or a lack of confidence keep you off that horse. Sit up straight and move forward with courage and strength. You probably won’t get kicked off that horse. Even if you do, so what. You gotta go through life meeting challenges heading on.

And, do not forget … you Gotta Say Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas, friends.

Phil Roberson

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    Kathryn Roberson Says:

    Hey dad, nice article. I just wanted to say Merry Christmas!! I will still be saying it, even to my Jewish friend. I love you and I am looking forward to horseback riding. Lets hope my feet don’t get frozen to the stirrups like they did that one time. lol. Love you.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a comment